Shooting on the West Side

Photo linked from the Sentinel’s article covering the story.

Ok, I like to keep this blog positive and promoting positive things happening on the West Side but I’m going to make an exception today.  Today, I went home for lunch and left only to find police tape on the corner of my block.  Someone was shot within a block of my home.  Our neighborhood is vibrant & fun & filled with great people and children.  I don’t want any of that to change but I do want us, all of us, to demand that we keep out neighborhood safe for everyone.  This doesn’t just mean telling the cops to do more, it means we all have to do more.  If you see something suspicious, report it.  The ‘stop snitchin’ mentality does nothing but harm the community.  Get to know your neighbors.  Turn on your porch lights to keep the area safer at night.  Even cleaning up the area helps change the view people have of our community by showing to people that we care about where we live.

Yeah, I’m standing here on my soap box but I truly care about this place and I hope you do too.  Please help us keep this neighborhood a great place to live.  If you have ideas of things to do, please share them.  In the coming weeks the West Side neighbors are planning on having a potluck picnic on Sunday August 5th at the Heberlig Palmer Tot Lot so we can start to get to know our neighbors again and have a relaxing afternoon.  Then, on August 7th, there will be a celebration for National Night Out on the 200 block of North Pitt Street.

More on the shooting on Pitt/A Streets and shots fired on N. West Street in Carlisle can be found at these 2 links.

