It’s been a while….Meeting June 7th!

Hello All!

The lovely Deb Fulham-Winston left her position as Elm Street Project Manager a few months back and unfortunately since then the West Side meetings haven’t been going on as planned.  I’m not big on having meetings just for the sake of it but I do really like it when we do things for the neighborhood.  I was thinking of a few things that we might want to try to organize in the coming weeks and I was hoping some of you might join me!  I have booked the classroom in Carlisle Police Station for next Tuesday June 7th at 7pm so we could get together and discuss some ideas.
I think one of the best things our little neighborhood group could do is to build a closer community and one of the best ways to do that is to meet your neighbors.  A few ideas I had were to organize a Neighborhood Potluck Picnic at the Heberlig Palmer Tot Lot (between west, lincoln, pitt & A streets).  It has a nice little pavilion, a playground and a huge lawn for kids to play on.  Maybe on Saturday June 25th?
A neighbor of mine also brought up the idea of holding and Neighborhood Wide Yard Sale.  This would help us clean out our garages and make a little extra $ at the same time.
Finally, I spoke with Jim Washington at Hope Station and secured a table for the West Side Neighbors at their annual Juneteenth Celebration (June 18th 1-4pm).  It would be a good time to showcase any of the events that we might be planning so we might be able to get more people involved.
I hope to see some of you there next week but even if you can’t come out, please let me know if you think any of these ideas would be good and if you would like to be involved in helping with any of them.  Also, I am always for more ideas so send them my way!
Cheers,
Brenda Landis
A Street
Keep up to date with the Carlisle West Side Blog & Facebook Page!
